Tuesday, April 26, 2016

A New Era Set To Begin At Southern Oregon Speedway

Southern Oregon Speedway Racing Discussion

Click to her the show Right HERE

A New Era Set To Begin At Southern Oregon Speedway

It's essentially the 20th anniversary season for Southern Oregon Speedway. The track opened back in 1996, and this marks the beginning of the 21st season. On Saturday night, four divisions will compete on the fast 3/10th mile clay oval. The track will have a brand new promoter.

As announced back in February, Mike McCann and K.J.E. Enterprises has signed a 10 year lease to run Southern Oregon Speedway. McCann brings with him 30 plus years of promotional experience at tracks throughout Oregon and California.

During the course of the season, the track will host 10 different divisions of race car, including IMCA Modifieds and Sport Modifieds, Open Stock Cars, Super 4's, Hornets and OTRO Hardtops. On Saturday night, it will be the return of the Pennzoil Winged Sprint Car division, along with Outlaw Pro Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Mini Stocks.

At many of the tracks in which McCann has promoted, Sprint Cars have been an important part of the program. The speedway itself had a regular Sprint Car division for over a decade before the class was relegated to visitor status for the past five seasons.

What is unknown at this point is who will be supporting, but word is that 2010 Champion Chadd Noland will be on the roster along with two young up and coming racers, Camden Robustelli and Jeffrey Hudson. Hudson won the 2015 Pro Stock Championship with his performance on the last night of the season, while Robustelli came within 21 points of winning the Dwarf Car championship last season.

With Hudson out of the picture, it appears as if the Pro Stocks will have a first time champion this year. Leading that charge will be James Flowers and 2015 point runner up Scott flowers. Recent Yreka winner, Steve Borror and Scott Bennett are other drivers who are poised to make a run in the point battle.

In the Dwarf Car ranks, Josh King is the defending two time champion. King can expect some stiff competition from the likes of Calvin Morton, Rob Gergel, Brock Peters, Ryan Smith and Kaycee Sheeler.

The Dwarf Car division has added a special 15 lap, $1,000 to win race, thanks to an anonymous sponsor. The drivers will pay a special entry fee, and all of that money will be donated to injured racer Fred Hay.

Hay suffered a hard flip in a race a month ago in Chico, California. He spent several days in the hospital and has since returned home. The third ranked driver and two time Main Event winner last season faces a lengthy recovery process.

After an impressive championship season in mini stocks, David Marble has already moved up to the Sport Modified division. Having ranked second in the points in four of the previous seven seasons, Bob Burkett would seem poised to finally pick up his first championship. However, he can expect some stiff competition from teammates Mike Cloud, Eric Hanson, Kris Mix and Marissa Henson. Also not to be forgotten is 2014 Champion Gary Anderson.

Saturday night will be the first race of the season that will go all the way through September 24th. Grandstands open at 5p.m. with the first race slated to begin at 7 p.m.. Adult tickets are $12, while kids 6 through 12 and seniors 65 and older are $6. Children 5 and under are free.