Saturday, July 30, 2016

Augustine, Braaten, Borror Win At Southern Oregon Speedway

Augustine, Braaten, Borror Win 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...July 30...Coos Bay point leader Nathan Augustine made his first visit to Southern Oregon Speedway and swept the heat, dash and 20 lap Open Stock Main Event Saturday night.  Jeffrey Hudson hopped into the Rocky Nash Pro Stock and made two late passes to finish second despite the fact that he had no practice laps all night.

Point leader Jorddon Braaten won his fourth 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event of the season.  Braaten led from lap 3 to the checkered flag.  Mike Medel made a charge from 12th starting to finish second after scratching from the preliminaries with a mechanical issue.

Steve Borror followed Roy Bain for just two laps before racing by for the lead and his second 20 lap Pro Stock Main  Event win at the track this year.  Trophy Dash winner Rocky Nash made a last lap pass on Matt Harlow for second.

David Steele won his fourth 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event of the season.  Point leader Bob Burkett led the first 5 laps before settling for second.

Joby Shields won his second 20 lap Hornet Main Event after passing Tim Hedges on lap ten.  Darrel Nelsen Jr. made a late move past Hedges for second.

Nathan Augustine got very familiar with the track in his first start and won the 20 lap Open Stock Main Event.  Augustine's heat win put him on the pole for the feature and he led from the start.  Point leader Mike Linder held second until being passed by Bob Dees on lap 16.  Dees was headed for second until 2015 Pro Stock champion Jeffrey Hudson made a low pass in Turn 3 to take the spot.  Augustine won by a wide margin ahead of Hudson.  Dees finished third, followed by Linder and Kristy Grout.

Jorddon Braaten won his fourth 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  The point leader Braaten took the lead from Trophy Dash winner David Marble on lap 3 and led the rest of the way.  Yreka point leader Jimmy Lipke quickly moved into second, but he spun late in Turns 3 and 4.  This allowed last starter Mike Medel to take over second.  Despite a yellow flag with two laps to go, Braaten would not let this win slip away.  Braaten prevailed ahead of Medel, Doug Franklin, David Marble, and Justin Foux.

Steve Borror won the the 20 lap Valley Boys Auto Sales Outlaw Pro Stock Main Event.  Borror chased Roy Bain for two laps before passing him for the lead.  Matt Harlow quickly settled into second.  Borror was threatened only briefly by Harlow.  Harlow held second until Rocky Nash made a Turn 2 pass on the last lap to take the position.  At the checkered flag, it was Borror winning his second feature at the Speedway and sixth of the year on the circuit ahead of Nash, Harlow, Scott Flowers and James Flowers.

David Steele drove another flawless race in winning his fourth 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event.  Point leader Bob Burkett led five laps before a high move in Turn 4 gained Steele the lead.  Despite a few yellow flags, Steele managed to catch slower cars quickly as he sped to a well earned victory.  Burkett settled for second ahead of Gary Anderson, Andrew Hall and Merissa Henson.

Joby Shields won the 20 lap Hornet Main Event.  Tim Hedges led the first ten laps before Shields raced by on the back stretch to grab the lead.  As Shields pulled away, Hedges and Darrel Nelson Jr. dueled fiercely for second.  Nelson made the late pass, but Shields won by a half lap ahead of Nelson, Hedges, John Hoult and Heather Menzel.

Next Friday and Saturday is the Dwarf Car Western Regional event.  For further information, check out

Race Results, July 30

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Tony Bartell, David Marble.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Marble.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jorddon Braaten, Mike Medel, Doug Franklin, Marble, Justin Foux.

Valley Boys Auto Sales Outlaw Pro Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Scott Flowers, Steve Borror.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Rocky Nash.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Borror, Nash, Matt Harlow, S. Flowers, James Flowers.

Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Bob Burkett, Gary Anderson.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Anderson.  Main Event (20 Laps)-David Steele, Bob Burkett, Anderson, Andrew Hall, Merissa Henson.

Open Stock Cars
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Nathan Augustine.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Augustine.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Augustine, Jeffrey Hudson, Bob Dees, Mike Linder, Kristy Grout.

Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Darrel Nelson Jr.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-John Hoult.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Joby Shields, Nelsen, Tom Hedges, Hoult, Heather Menzel.