Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Southern Oregon Speedway Outlaw Kart Awards Banquet Set For March 1st

Southern Oregon Speedway Outlaw Kart 
Awards Banquet Set For March 1st

White City, Oregon...The awards banquet date has been announced for the Southern Oregon Speedway Outlaw Karts.  It will happen at Abby's Pizza in White City on March 1st.  The Wednesday evening gathering will start at 6:00 PM.

Outlaw Karts have been an important part of the Southern Oregon Speedway program since the one-eighth mile dirt oval was built in 1998.  Last season was the 19th season at the track known as the training ground for future stars.  Hard chargers such as Camden Robustelli, Jeffrey Hudson, Jake Wheeler, Chadd Noland, C.J. Putnam and even NASCAR star Kyle Larson have raced there.

Weather tormented the program at times last season, but the show still went on in the 500 Outlaw Kart, 250 Outlaw kart, Box Stock and Beginners Box Stock divisions.  The highlight of the  abbreviated season was the successful Vern Wheeler Sr. Memorial race, which produced the biggest turnout of the season.

To honor the rising young stars, the Awards Banquet will offer Top 5 trophies in the core four divisions.  Johnny Burke grabbed the 500 Kart championship from two time winner Mike Wheeler with his performance in the season finale.  Bodee Weiser had an impressive season in 250 Karts to dethrone Tanner Holmes as 250 Kart champion.

Trevor Grimes was at times unstoppable in Box Stocks as he won his second championship, trailed by Emma Rodgers.  Trevor's younger sister Kiley Grimes improved with each start as she won the Beginners Box Stock championship ahead of Shailene Horn.  All of the kids who competed can be proud of their efforts in 2016.

The 2017 Outlaw Kart schedule should be announced soon and will offer up some special nights for the racers and fans.  In the meantime, Abby's Pizza in White City 2550 on Crater Lake Highway will be the place to be at 6:00 PM on March 1st.  The Wednesday night gathering will honor the Top 5 racers in all four divisions.  Top 5's are listed below.  For further information, check out www.southernoregonspeedway.com.

Final Top 5 Rankings
500 Outlaw Karts
1  Johnny Burke
2  Mike Wheeler
3  Chase Hill
4  Tanner Holmes
5  Merissa Henson

250 Outlaw Karts
3  Bodee Weiser
2  Tanner Holmes
3  Enrique Jaime
4  Braden Weiser
5  Brenden Bartlett

Box Stock
1  Trevor Grimes
2  Emma Rodgers
3  Natalie Richard
4  Ryan Hirschbock
5  Carley Holmes

Beginners Box Stock
1  Kiley Grimes
2  Shailene Horn
3  Adrian Richard
4  Taylor Fuller
5  Jacob James