Sunday, May 6, 2018

Hibbard, Wauge Win Southern Oregon Speedway Features

Hibbard, Wauge Win Southern Oregon Speedway Features

White City, Oregon...May 5...David Hibbard won the 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night as Southern Oregon Speedway opened the 2018 season.  Hibbard chased down early leader Enrique Jaime and passed him on lap six as they were lapping a slower car.  Hibbard sped from there to an impressive win.  Tanner Holmes won a late race duel with Jaime for second as Jeffrey Hudson and Blaine Cory rounded out the Top 5.

Seven time IMCA Modified champion Mark Wauge won that division's 25 lap Main Event.  James Welshonse took the lead from Dave Duste Jr. on lap five and led until mechanical issues sent him into the infield on lap 11.  Nick Trenchard held the lead at that point with Wauge in close pursuit.  A Turn 3 pass on lap 19 gained Wauge the lead, and he took it to the checkered flag.  Trenchard settled for second ahead of reigning champion Jesse Bailey, Duste and Duane Orsburn.

David Marble won his first career 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  Marble set a rapid pace and was never seriously threatened in victory.  Willie McFall was a solid second as Tony Duste, Danny Rule and Joby Shields completed the Top 5.

David Steele won the 20 lap Mini Stock Main Event.  Steele picked up where he left of from last year as he won the final three features.  Steele held off constant pressure from Steve Goetz to take the victory.  Reigning champion Kristopher Mix outran Hunter Magnan for third as Garrett Fredrickson was a career best fifth.

Brandon Wonsyld won his first 15 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event.  Wonsyld led from the start. Despite constant pressure from reigning champion Jason Stoutenburgh, Wonsyld persevered for the victory.  Dylan Irving finished third ahead of Zach Nelson and Bree Trictchler.

Racing returns next Week with Late Models, Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites, Mini Stocks, JOAT Labs Hornets, Pro 4 West Modifieds and a Silva Painting Destruction Derby.  For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Enrique Jaime, Bailey Hibbard.  Scramble (6 Laps)-B. Hibbard.  Main Event (25 Laps)-David Hibbbard, Tanner Holmes, Jaime, Jeffrey Hudson, Blaine Cory

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Albert Gill, Nick Trenchard, James Welshonse.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Trenchard, Jesse Bailey, Dave Duste Jr., Duane Orsburn.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Mike Medel, Willie McFall, David Marble.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Marble, McFall, Tony Duste, Danny Rule, Joby Shields.

Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Steve Goetz, David Steele.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Steele, Goetz, Kristopher Mix, Hunter Magnan, Garrett Fredrickson.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Ashtin Hedges, Brandon Wonsyld.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Wonsyld, Jason Stoutenburgh, Dylan Irving, Zack Nelson, Bree Tritchler.