Sunday, June 24, 2018

Winebarger Goes Flag To Flag For Speedweek Victory At Southern Oregon Speedway, Outlaw Kart Results

Winebarger Goes Flag To Flag For Speedweek Victory 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 23...Collen Winebarger went flag-to-flag to score the $1,000 victory in the second leg of the IMCA Modified Wild West Speedweek Tour Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. Winebarger led the 35 lap race through numerous yellow flags with Grey Ferrando trailing in second until losing the position to Ethan Dotson on a lap 13 restart. Dotson chased Winebarger through traffic, but he was unable to make a move and would settled for second ahead of Fernando, Darrell Hughes II and Bricen James.

IMCA State point leader Justin McCreadie won his first ever IMCA Sport Modified 15 lap Main Event at his home track. McCreadie was being chased by Antioch, California visitor Keith Brown Jr until another Antioch racer, Brent Curran, made the move into second. Curran gave it a good run, but he was unable to make the pass on the hard-charging McCreadie. Doug Coffman finished third, followed by David Marble and Braxton Possinger.

Kalvin Morton made a late charge to win the 20 lap Southern Oregon Dwarf Car Main Event. Morton was fourth early on as a group of five cars was led by Chad Cardoza. A high pass in Turn 2 the 14th lap gained reigning champion Brock Peters the lead, but he surrendered the first position two laps later to an inside pass on the backstretch by Morton. Morton led the rest of the way for the victory, and Cody Peters made a lap 18 pass on Brock Peters for the second position. Cardoza and Randy Slater completed the Top 5.

Chris Boynton scored his first 15 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event victory. Heat race winner Bree Tritchler paced the field for 10 laps before an inside pass in Turn 4 of the 11th lap gained the lead for Boynton as they worked slower traffic. Boynton led the final five laps, followed closely by Tritchler. Ashtin Hedges led a trio of his family in third, followed by his mother Jenna Hedges and father Tim Hedges.

Racing resumes next Saturday night with a special Veterans Night. The Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars will be back along with Late Models, Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks, JOAT Labs Hornets, SODCA Dwarf Cars, OTRO Hardtops and a Silva's Painting Destruction Derby. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
IMCA Modifieds
Round 1 Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Danny Lauer, Nick Trenchard, Mark Wauge, Carl Berendsen II, Collen Winebarger. Round 2 Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Ethan Dotson, Nick Trenchard, Jesse Williamson, John Campos, Bricen James. B Main 1 (15 Laps)-Danny Lauer, Curtis Towns, CJ Putnam. B Main 2 (15 Laps)-Darrell Hughes II, Richard Papenhausen, Tim Balding. Main Event (35 Laps)-Collen Winebarger, Ethan Dotson, Grey Fernando, Darrell Hughes II, Bricen James. \

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Doug Coffman, Keith Brown Jr,  Brent Curran. Main Event (15 Laps)-Justin McCreadie, Brent Curran, Doug Coffman, David Marble, Braxton Possinger.

SODCA Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Brett James, Kalvin Morton, Brock Peters. A Dash (6 Laps)-Brock Peters. B Dash (6 laps)-Josh King. Main Event (20 Laps)-Kalvin Morton, Cody Peters, Brock Peters, Chad Cardoza, Randy Slater.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (6 laps)-Bree Tritchler, Tim Hedges. Main Event (15 Laps)-Chris Boynton, Bree Tritchler, Ashtin  Hedges, Jenna Hedges, Tim Hedges.

Johnson, Augustine, DeBenenetti Win Outlaw Kart Races 
At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 22...Reigning champion Malachi Johnson won his second straight 12 lap Beginners Box Stock Main Event at little Southern Oregon Speedway. Johnson ran second for most of the race behind Carson Henson, who was debutng a new Kart. Henson ran the inside and Johnson ran the outside with Mike Wheeler Jr looking to the inside of Johnson in the three kart battle. After a mid race yellow flag, this battle continued until the leaders caught slower traffic in the final turn. Johnson made the outside groove stick as he took the lead with Wheeler following for a second place finish. Henson settled for third ahead of Uriah Sanders and Shailene Horn.

Keaton Augustine led all the way to win the 15 lap Box Stock Main Event. This race had just one mid race yellow flag, but Augustine led on the restart with Jacob James, Ryan Hirschbock and Taylor Fuller in close pursuit all the way to the checkered flag. Brandon Steinhoff finished fifth.

Vinny DeBenedetti won his first career 20 lap 250 Kart Main Event. After winning one of his heat races, DeBenedetti used the inside groove to lead every lap of the Main Event for victory. Incoming point leader Trevor Grimes tried to get by on the inside but spun three times for three different yellow flags to get blacked flagged as DeBenedetti won ahead of Grimes and Taylor Fuller.

Ron Bolles won the 15 lap UAS Speedway Kart Main Event. Subbing for Larry Fuller, Sean Fuller led most of the race with Bolles in close pursuit. A Turn 2 pass on the final lap earned Bolles the victory. Sean Fuller settled for second, followed by Steve Rambo, Lori Fuller and Michael Owens.

Josh Steinhoff  won the 20 lap 500 Open Kart Main Event. He led all the way to win ahead of teammate Kyle Ramociotti and Reece Slyter.

The Outlaw Kart program returns on July 6th with all of the divisions in action once again. For further information, go to