Sunday, July 1, 2018

Hibbard, Coffell Share Spotlight At Southern Oregon Speedway

Hibbard, Coffell Share Spotlight 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 30...Point leader Dave Hibbard won his third 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event.  Hibbard chased six lap Scramble winner Blaine Cory for 11 laps until making his winning pass on lap 11.  Hibbard led the rest of the way with Cory not far behind for a season best second place finish.  Jeffrey Hudson beat Enrique Jaime back to the line in a near photo finish for third as Bailey Hibbard was fifth.

Willamette Speedway star Darren Coffell came to town and turned in a dominant performance in winning the 20 lap Late Model Main Event. Coffell charged into the lead at the start and held a half lap lead when a caution flag flew on lap eight. Coffell resumed command on the restart and won by a half lap. John Dees held off father Bob Dees for second as point leader Nathan Augustine and David Newquist also earned Top 5 finishes.

Point leader David Steele scored his fourth 20 lap Bobbio's Pizza Main Event win. Steele had a half lap lead wiped out by a lap 15 yellow flag for an Ashtin Hedges spin, but he pulled away on the restart and won ahead of Gary Anderson, David Marble, Steve Goetz and Aaron Jorgensen.

Ashtin Hedges won his second 20 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event. Hedges took the lead from Bree Tritchler in Turn 4 on lap 10. Once he got in front, Hedges built a straightaway advantage over Tritchler at the checkered flag. Chris Boynton, Tim Hedges and Derrel Nelson Jr. rounded out the Top 5.

Kalvin Morton won his second straight 20 lap SODCA Dwarf Car Main Event. Morton raced underneath Cody Peters on the inside in Turn 4 on lap ten to grab the lead. After that, Morton led the second half of the race and scored a satisfying victory. Ageless veteran Fred Hay raced into second on the last lap as Chad Cardoza, Cody Peters and Ryan Smith completed the Top 5.

Mark Minter won the non stop 20 lap OTRO Hardtop Main Event. Minter led from the start with early pressure from Dean Cast. However, Minter pulled away down the stretch and won ahead of Cast, Bill Trotter, Jay Smith and Justin Krossman.

Next weekend will feature a full night of Outlaw Kart racing on the little track on Friday night. The Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars return on Saturday night along with the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites and SODCA Dwarf Cars. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Merissa Henson, Blaine Corey. Scramble (4 Laps)-Blaine Corey. Main Event (25 Laps)-Dave Hibbard, Blaine Cory, Jeffrey Hudson, Enrique Jaime, Bailey Hibbard.

Late Models
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Darren Coffell, Bob Dees. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Dave Foote. Main Event (20 Laps)-Darren Coffell, John Dees, Bob Dees, Nathan Augustine, David Newquist.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-David Steele, Hunter Magnan. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Steve Goetz. Main Event (20 Laps)-David Steele, Gary Anderson, David Marble, Steve Goetz, Aaron Jorgensen.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Derrel Nelson Jr, Bree Tritchler. Trophy Dash 1 (4 Laps)-Ashtin Hedges. Trophy Dash 2 (4 Laps)-Bree Tritchler. Main Event (20 Laps)-Ashtin Hedges, Bree Tritchler, Chris Boynton, Tim Hedges, Derrel Nelson Jr.

SODCA Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Ryan Smith, Chad Cardoza, Brock Peters. A Dash (6 Laps)-Brock Peters. B Dash (6 Laps)-Kalvin Morton. Main Event (20 Laps)-Kalvin Morton, Fred Hay, Chad Cardoza, Cody Peters, Ryan Smith

OTRO Hardtops
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Mark Minter. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Justin Krossman. Main Event (20 Laps)-Mark Minter, Dean Cast, Bill Trotter, Jay Smith, Justin Krossman.