Sunday, July 8, 2018

Hibbard Unstoppable In Fourth Win At Southern Oregon Speedway, Plus Friday Night Kart Article

Hibbard Unstoppable In Fourth Win 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...July 7...David Hibbard won his fourth Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. Hibbard jumped into the lead at the start and pulled away from the pack in the 25 lap race that went without a yellow flag. Blaine Corey had his second straight runner up finish as Garen Linder, Tanner Holmes and Bailey Hibbard completed the Top 5.

Zach Fettinger won his second 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event. Mark Wauge led eight laps before Fettinger moved underneath him in Turn 2 to gain the lead. Fettinger set a rapid pace and built up a straightaway advantage at the checkered flag. Albert Gill outran Nick Trenchard in a good battle or second as Jeremy Ohlde and Andy Freeman rounded out the Top 5.

Brandon Wilson won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event. Jimmy Lipke battled Randy Wright early before pulling ahead. Jesse Merriman and Brandon Wilson both challenged Lipke down the stretch, but Lipke seemed to have it in hand. However, Wilson got a run on Lipke exiting the final turn and beat him to the checkered Flag to steal the win. David Marble finished third ahead of Tony Bartell and Tony Duste.

Cody Peters won the 20 lap SODCA Dwarf Car Main Event. Peters led the race from the start with Kalvin Morton in pursuit through four yellow flags. In heavy traffic, Morton tried to make an inside pass racing to the checkered flag, but Cody Peters held him off for the victory. Fred Hay finished third, followed by Josh King and Camden Robustelli.

Point leader Charlie Eaton won the 20 lap Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites Main Event. Bob Burkett had the pole and led from the start with Greg Arnold and Lee Doty in close pursuit. Arnold spun in Turn 2 and was clipped by Doty to end his race on lap 11. Contact between the lead two cars enabled Eaton to race into the lead in Turn 2 on lap 15. Eaton led the rest of the way to win ahead of Burkett, Doty, Eric Aos and Dusty Aos.

Racing returns next week for Kids Night. There will be bikes givaways and kids get in for free admission. Kendall Oil Winged Sprints will be there along with Late Models, Bobbio's Pizzza Mini Stocks and JOAT Labs Hornets. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-David Hibbard, Garen Linder. Scramble (6 Laps)-Garen Linder. Main Event (25 Laps)-David Hibbard, Blaine Corey, Garen Linder, Tanner Holmes, Bailey Hibbard.

IMCA Modifeds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Albert Gill, Nick Trenchard. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Andy Freeman. Main Event (25 Laps)-Zach Fettinger, Albert Gill, Nick Trenchard, Jeremy Ohlde, Andy Freeman.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-David Marble, Mike Medel. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Willie McFall. Main Event (20 Laps)-Brandon Wilson, Jimmy Lipke, David Marble, Tony Bartell, Tony Duste.

SODCA Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Camden Robustelli, Brock Peters, Josh King. A Dash (6 Laps)-Camden Robustelli. B Dash (8 Laps)-Cody Peters. Main Event (20 Laps)-Cody Peters, Kalvin Morton, Fred Hay, Josh King, Camden Robustelli.

Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Bob Burkett. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Bob Burkett. Main Event (20 Laps)-Charlie Eaton, Bob Burkett, Lee Doty, Eric Aos, Dusty Aos.

DeBenedetti, Johnson, Augustine
Are Repeat Outlaw Kart Winners

White City, Oregon...July 6...Vinny DeBenedetti won his second straight 250 Kart Main Event Friday night at Little Southern Oregon Speedway. Point leader Trevor Grimes and Cadyn Smith won heat races and ran first and second at the start. DeBenedetti went to work on the outside and made a back stretch pass on Smith for second on lap two. DeBenedetti made a high pass in Turn 4 a lap later to take the lead from Grimes. Moments later, Grimes came to a stop on the back stretch. DeBenedetti proceeded to lead the rest of the race with Smith not far behind in second. Taylor Fuller finished third.

Point leader Keaton Augustine went flag to flag for his second straight 15 lap Box Stock Main Event victory. Jacob James led a trio of karts right behind Augustine. Ryan Hirschbock kept looking to the inside of James, but James held him off for second. Taylor Fuller and Kiley Grimes completed the Top 5. Augustine and James won heat races.

Point leader Malachi Johnson outdueled Mike Wheeler Jr for his third straight 15 lap Beginners Box Stock Main Event win. Johnson and Wheeler each won both of their heat races to grab front row starts for the feature. Wheeler led at the start with Johnson a close second. The leaders were in constant traffic with a few new drivers making their first laps. Augustine made a high pass in Turn 4 of the fourth lap to take the lead. Johnson made all the right moves when coming up on slower cars, but he still barely beat Wheeler back to the checkered flag for the win. Carson Henson finished third as Uriah Sanders and Jayme DeBenedetti completed the Top 5.

Lori Fuller outlasted the other UAS Speedway Karts to with the Main Event in her 4 Cycle Kart. Steve Rambo was second ahead of heat winner Larry Fuller and Johnny Hoult.

The next Outlaw Kart program at the little track will be on July 20th. For further information, go to