Saturday, August 4, 2018

Diatte, Fitzpatrick Win Night One Of Dwarf Car Nationals At Southern Oregon Speedway

Diatte, Fitzpatrick Win Night One Of Dwarf Car Nationals 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...August 3...Ryan Diatte won the 20 lap Pro Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event Friday night at Southern Oregon Speedway.  It was the opening night of the WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals, hosted by the local SODCA Dwarf Car group.  Diatte grabbed the lead on a lap six restart.  He withstood the constant pressure of NCDCA Dwarf Car champion Danny Wagner in the waning laps for the impressive victory.  Darren Brown won a photo finish at the line with Camden Robsutelli for third as two time SODCA champion Josh King finished fifth.  The Top 10 finishers are locked into Saturday's Main Event.

Tim Fitzpatrick won the 20 lap Veterans Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event.  Fitzpatrick trailed Fred Hay for the first four laps before making an outside pass on the front strech on lap five for the lead.  Hay held second until losing it to a last turn pass by last starter Kevin Bender.  Hay settled for third ahead of Buddy Olschowka and Brian Quilty.

Shawn Whitney won the 15 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event.  Whitney made a high pass in Turn 2 to take the lead from Brett James on the third lap and led the rest of the way in victory.  Joe Sanders spun from second on lap nine but battled back to finish third ahead of Michael Johnson, Ashleigh Strain and Mac Aceves.

Bree Tritchler won her first career 20 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event.  After three straight second place finishes,  Tritchler won an early duel with point leader Tim Hedges and proceeded to pull away to a half-lap lead by the checkered flag.  Brandon Wonsyld and Dylan Irving made late passes on Hedges for second and third place finishes.  Hedges settled for fourth ahead of Jeremy Mayfield

The Dwarf Car Nationals continues tomorrow night.  Kendall Oil Winged Sprints and Valley Store All Late Model Lites will be a part of the program as well.  For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Dwarf Car Nationals
Pro Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Darren Brown, Ryan Martinez, Camden Robustelli.  B Main (15 Laps)-Zach Price, Randy Slater, Henry Corbin II.  Preliminary Main (20 Laps)-Ryan Diatte, Danny Wagner, Camden Robustelli, Darren Brown, Josh King.

Veteran Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Fred Hay, Tim Fitzpatrick, Mike Reeder.  Preliminary Main (20 Laps)-Tim Fitzpatrick, Kevin Bender, Fred Hay, Buddy Olschowka, Brian Quilty.

Sportsman Dwarf Cars
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Brett James.  Preliminary Main (20 Laps)-Shawn Whitney, Joe Sanders, Michael Johnson, Ashleigh Strain, Mac Aceves.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Dylan Irving, Bree Tritchler.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Dylan Irving.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Bree Tritchler, Brandon Wonsyld, Dylan Irving, Tim Hedges, Jeremy Mayfield.