Sunday, August 26, 2018

Ensign Pockets $3,500 For Sprint Car Win At Southern Oregon Speedway

Ensign Pockets $3,500 For Sprint Car Win 
At Southern Oregon Speedway
Geoff Ensign#3f and car owner Ted Finkenbinder win the Cascade Wingless Sprint Car Challenge.

White City, Oregon...August 25...Geoff Ensign won his second Cascade Wingless Sprint Car 25 lap race Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. The win paid $3,500 to Ensign in the Ted Finkenbinder owned entry thanks to race sponsorship from Herz Precision Parts. After winning the Scramble to be on the pole for the Main Event, Shawn Arriaga paced the first five laps before an inside pass in Turn 4 of the sixth lap gained Ensign the lead.

Ensign began to pull away and work slower traffic by lap 14. Arriaga was holding on to second until he hit the front wall on lap 22 and flipped for a red flag. He was uninjured. By then, local Winged Sprint Car star Jeffrey Hudson was in third. Ensign led the remaining three tours for the win Hudson pocketed $1,500 for second, followed by Lindsay Barney, Jonathan Jorgensen and Tim Alberding.

Miles Deubert #38 won his second Late Model Main Event.

Rookie Miles Deubert picked up his first 20 lap Late Model Main Event win since the season opener. Point leader Nathan Augustine led two laps before surrendering the position to John Dees on lap three. Augustine discovered he had a left rear flat tire and headed to the pits as Deubert took up pursuit of John Dees. An inside pass on the front stretch on lap eight gained Deubert the lead, and he stretched his advantage to a full straightaway by the time the checkered flag flew on the non-stop event. John Dees settled for second, followed by Bob Dees, Dave Foote and Mike Linder.

David Steele #67 won his eighth Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock Main Event.

David Steele continued to close in on the Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock championship with his eighth 20 lap Main Event victory. Steele led the race from the outset and went flag to flag in a race that needed no yellow flags. Hunter Magnan made a move around Steve Goetz on lap seven to take second all the way to the finish. Goetz settled for third ahead of Gary Anderson and Ashtin Hedges.

Dylan Irving #11 won his first career JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event.

Dylan Irving won his first career 20 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event. Tim Hedges was working on a clean sweep after winning his heat race and the Trophy Dash. He led the first eight laps before getting on two wheels in Turn 4 and watching Irving and Brandon Wonsyld race by for first and second. A yellow flag flew on lap 18, but Irving led the restart and held off Wonsyld for a hard-earned victory. Hedges, Dylan Sauer and Bree Tritchler rounded out the Top 5.

Next week is the Second Annual R Charles Snyder Salute. The two day event will pay $5,000 to win for IMCA Modifieds and $2,000 to win for IMCA Sport Modifieds on Sunday. SODCA Dwarf Cars will run both days and the Calculated Comfort Outlaw Pro Stocks will be there on Sunday. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Wingless 360 Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (10 Laps)-Jonathan Jorgensen, Lindsay Barney. Scramble (8 Laps)-Shawn Arriaga. Main Event (30 Laps)-Geoff Ensign, Jeffrey Hudson, Lindsay Barney, Jonathan Jorgensen, Tim Alberding.

Late Models
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Nathan Augustine. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Nathan Augustine. Main Event (20 Laps)-Miles Deubert, John Dees, Bob Dees, Dave Foote, Mike Linder.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Steve Goetz, David Steele. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Steve Goetz. Main Event (20 Laps)-David Steele, Hunter Magnan, Steve Goetz, Gary Anderson, Ashtin Hedges.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Tim Hedges, Dylan Irving. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Tim Hedges. Main Event (20 Laps)-Dylan Irving, Brandon Wonsyld, Tim Hedges, Dylan Sauer, Bree Tritchler.