Saturday, September 8, 2018

DeBenedetti, Fuller, Augustine, Henson Champions At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

DeBenedetti, Fuller, Augustine, Henson Champions 
At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...September 7...Friday night brought a close to the 2018 Outlaw Kart season at Little Southern Oregon Speedway. The track crowned champions in six divisions and presented the Top 5 drivers in the four primary classes with trophies at the end of the evening.

Vinny DeBenedetti #21 is the 250 Kart champion.

Trevor Grimes won the battle, but Vinny DeBenedetti won the war in the 250 Kart division. Just by taking the green flag, DeBenedetti wrapped up the division championship. Taylor Fuller led the Main Event early before Grimes moved up to battle him for position. The two cars made contact in Turn 4 on lap eight, resulting in a crash that ended the night for Fuller. Grimes, who had won both heat races earlier in the evening, made a charge from the back to score his fourth Main Event win of the season and secure second in the standings. DeBenedetti crossed the line in second and Blake Boshart was third.

Lori Fuller ran impressively all night in the UAS Speedway Karts. After out running Ken Gaines to win both heat races, she once again repelled every attempt by Gaines to get by her on the outside to win her second 12 lap Main Event. In doing so, she overtook Steve Rambo to win the division championship. Gaines would finish second in the Main Event, followed by Larry Fuller.

Keaton Augustine #24 is the Box Stock champion.

Ryan Hirschbock won the battle in the Box Stock division, but Keaton Augustine would win the war. Hirschbock did everything he could do by winning both heat races and his third 12 at Main Event. However, Augustine used his second place finish to secure the division championship ahead of Hirschbock.

Carson Henson #11 is the Beginners Box Stock champion.

Carson Henson saved the best for last. Henson won a heat race and won his first Beginners Box Stock 12 lap Main Event. The win allowed him to hold off Malachi Johnson to win the division championship. Johnson finished second in the Main Event, followed by Albert Gill Jr.

Kenny Boardman won the 15 lap 500 Open Outlaw Main Event and the heat race ahead of Bailey Sucich. The win enabled Boardman to win the division championship.

Jayme DeBenedetti won the 10 lap Novice Box Stock Main Event and one of the heat races. By winning a heat race and finishing second in the Main Event, Bhaltair Edwards was able to win the championship ahead of Issac Grimes, who finished third in the Main Event.