Saturday, May 7, 2016

Wheeler, Wauge Impressive In Victory

Wheeler, Wauge Impressive In Victory

Vern Wheeler Jr. wrapped up another clean sweep performance with his win in the 25 lap Pennzoil Winged Sprint Car Main Event.  Wheeler led from the start, but he appeared to slow down around lap 18.  A lap 20 caution flag flew for debris on the track, and V. Wheeler picked up the pace on the restart to put some distance between himself and Jake Wheeler.  Camden Robustelli was third ahead of Wayne Kniffen and Todd Whipple.  V. Wheeler won the heat race and Trophy Dash.

Six time IMCA Modified champion Mark Wauge returned for the season opener and won the 25 lap Main Event.  Wauge drove a flawless race in the event that would have no yellow flags.  Matt Duste was a strong second ahead of Jesse Bailey.  Two time defending champion Albert Gill settled for fourth as Nick Trenchard rounded out the Top 5.  Heat wins went to Wauge and Zach Fettinger.

Two time defending IMCA Sport Modified champion Jorddon Braaten kicked off the season in style by winning the 20 lap Main Event.  Braaten started on the front row and set the pace through one yellow flag period.  A yellow on lap nine negated a pass on the back stretch for the lead by two time champion Dwayne Melvin.  Braaten could never shake Melvin from his rear bumper the rest of the way, but he still scored a well earned victory ahead of Melvin, Bob Nelsen, Jimmy Lipke and David Marble.  Melvin and Garrett Hamilton won heat races.

Gary Anderson thwarted Bob Burkett's attempt at a Mini Stock clean sweep.  Burkett had won both the Trophy Dash and his heat race.  Burkett led the first nine laps of the Main Event from the pole before Anderson drove it in high on the outside in Turn 1 and dove underneath Burkett for the lead on Turn 2.  Once in front, Anderson made all the right moves in traffic for the win.  Burkett settled for second in the non stop race with Yrkea visitor Ethan Killingsworth third.  Marissa Henson earned a Trophy dash start for the next race as she held off heat winner Andrew Hall for the fourth place finish.

On Friday night, the Outlaw Kart track will open for Kart racing.  Racing continues on the big track next Saturday night

with Valley Boys Auto Sales Outlaw Pro Stocks, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Super 4's, Hornets and OTRO Hardtops.  For further information, check the official website at

Race Results Saturday, May 7

Pennzoil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Vern Wheeler Jr.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-V. Wheeler.  Main Event (25 laps)-V. Wheeler, Jake Wheeler, Camden Robustelli, Wayne Kniffen, Todd Whipple.

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Zach Fettinger.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Matt Duste, Jesse Bailey, Albert Gill, Nick Trenchard.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Dwayne Melvin, Garrett Hamilton.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jorddon Braaten, Melvin, Bob Nelsen, Jimmy Lipke, David Marble.

Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Bob Burkett, Andrew Hall.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Burkett.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Gary Anderson, Burkett, Ethan Killingsworth, Marissa Henson, Andrew Hall.