Sunday, June 12, 2016

Gaylord Outduels Chadwick For Victory At Southern Oregon Speedway

Gaylord Outduels Chadwick For Victory 
At Southern  Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 11...Ryan Scott Gaylord of Golden, Colorado out dueled Oakley, California's Kellen Chadwick in a thrilling battle to win the 35 Lap IMCA Modified Wild West Shoot Out Series Main Event Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway.  The two exchanged the lead a few times during the second half of the race before Gaylord prevailed for the $1,000 win.

Fred Ryland returned and won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  Point leader Jorddon Braaten came from eighth starting to second, but that was where he finished behind the race long leader.

Rocky Nash led all 15 laps of the Valley Boys Auto Sales Outlaw Pro Stock Main Event for the win.  Point leader Steve Borror started last in the 16 car field and spun in the final turn going for the lead.

Collen Winebarger paced the IMCA Modified field for 15 laps with Ryan Scott Gaylord behind him for much of that.  Gaylord was working the high groove and made the pass in Turn 4 on lap 16 for the lead.  Kellen Chadwick moved by Winebarger with an inside pass in Turn 2 on lap 18 and started his second half duel with Gaylord.  For much of the way from there, the two raced side by side.  Chadwick nosed a ahead a few times, but it was Gaylord taking the checkered flag by half a car length for the win.  Winebarger was third ahead of defending champion Jesse Williamson and Mark Carrell.

The 40 drivers present ran two sets of heat races to earn starting spots for the 35 lap feature.  The rest of the field was filled by two 15 lap B Mains and a 10 lap Last Chance Qualifier.   2014 Series champion Alex Stanford won one of the  B Mains ahead of Mark Wauge.  The other B Main went to Mark Carrell over 2011 Series champion Brian Poppa.  Steve Srurdavant won the Last Chance Race ahead of John Mayden.

Heat and Trophy Dash winner Fred Ryland had a front row start for the IMCA Sport Modified feature and would lead all 20 laps for the victory.  Mike Medel and recent Yreka winner Jimmy Lipke took turns holding down second until point leader Jorddon Braaten made his pass on Lipke for second on lap 16.  Lipke settled for third ahead of Medel and Rich McCoy.  Bob Nelsen won the other heat race.

Rocky Nash ended Steve Borror's reign of dominance in the Outlaw Pro Stock 15 lap Main Event.  Nash started on the pole and led all the way while Borror worked his way up from a last row start in the 16 car feature.  Borror was in second and made a move in the final turn in an attempt to gain the lead.  He ended up spinning as Nash won ahead of John David Duffie, Scott Flowers, Ken Irving and Borror.  Borror and Duffie dominated their heat races, while Borror also won the Trophy Dash.

Racing continues next week with the SODCA Dwarf Cars, IMCA Sport Modifieds, Mini Stocks, Open Stock Cars and Hornets.  For further information, check out

Race Results Saturday, June 11

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners Round 1 (8 Laps)-Kellen Chadwick, Tripp Gaylord, Jesse Williamson, Bricen James, Ryan Scott Gaylord.  Heat Winners Round 2 (8 Laps)-Collen Winebarger, Kyle Casson, Williamson, R. Gaylord, Mark Wauge.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-James Welshonse.  B Main 1 (15 Laps)-Alex Stanford, Wauge, Kevin Roberts.  B Main 2 (15 Laps)-Mark Carrell, Brian Poppa, Randy Brown.  Last Chance Qualifier (10 Laps)-Steve Sturdavant, John Mayden, C.J. Putnam. Main Event (25 laps)-R. Gaylord, Chadwick, Winebarger, Williamson, Carrell, Stanford, T. Gaylord, Lance Mari, Brown, John Campos.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Bob Nelsen, Fred Ryland. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-F. Ryland.  Main Event (20 Laps)-F. Ryland, Jorddon Braaten, Jimmy Lipke, Mike Medel, Rich McCoy.

Outlaw Pro Stock
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Rocky Nash, Steve Borror.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Borror.  Main Event (15 Laps)-Nash, John David Duffie, Scott Flowers, Ken Irving, Borror, Matt Harlow, Brad Zeitler, Rick Lukens, Ginny Flowers, Arlen Garrison.