Saturday, June 4, 2016

Holmes A Double Winner In Outlaw Karts At Southern Oregon Speedway

Holmes A Double Winner In Outlaw Karts 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

Outlaw Kart racing season finally opened at the little one-eighth mile track at Southern Oregon Speedway.  The kids had a good night of racing and put on an entertaining show for the fans in attendance.  Defending 250 Kart champion Tanner Holmes impressed with his win in 25 lap Main Event.  Holmes won ahead of Brenden Bartlett.  Holmes then followed that up by winning his first 25 lap 500 Kart feature ahead of Chase Hill.  Trevor Grimes won the 20 lap Box Stock feature in impressive fashion ahead of Bryson Snow.  Jacob James won the Beginners Box Stock Main Event.

Chase Hill won the first of two 500 Kart ten lap heats, but he was involved in a crash to end his second heat race.  Holmes won the second heat before Hill returned to run the Main Event.  Johnny Burke led the first five laps.  Lap six saw Hill dive low in Turn 3 to grab the lead, but Burke ducked underneath in Turn 4 to regain the point.  Hill made another dive into Turn 1 of sixth lap to regain the lead as the two bumped wheels.  The yellow was out on lap seven as Burke stalled in Turn 1.  A lengthy yellow flag period on lap seven for Burke saw Hill and Steve Rambo run out of fuel.  T. Holmes had the lead on the restart, and he led the rest of the way with Hill a lead lap second.  Rambo was third ahead of Burke and Jantzen Kinps.

T. Holmes had a great night in the 250 Karts as he won his first ten lap heat race along with Brenden Bartlett.  T. Holmes and Enrique Jaime were the winners of the second set of heat races.  T. Holmes led the Main Event from the start with Bartlett making a low pass in Turn 4 of the fourth lap for second.  A pair of yellows in succession for Reece Slyter spins in Turn 2 were the only slowdowns on laps four and five.  The last half of the race featured a good battle between Jaime, Bodee Weiser and Brody Sim for third as the three competitors ran closely.  An inside pass in Turn 4 of the 12th lap gained Brody Sim third from Jaime, but he surrendered third to a Turn 4 pass by Weiser on lap 17.  T. Holmes drove a flawless race and won by a straightaway ahead of the smooth running Bartlett.  Bodee Weiser was third just ahead of Sim and Jaime, the final lead lap finishers.

The Box Stock division also had a good turnout.  2014 champion Carley Holmes and defending champion and Trevor Grimes were the first round ten lap heat winners.  Isabella Jaime drove a good race to win a heat race in the second round as Grimes won his again.  Grimes and C. Holmes led the pack to the Main Event green flag with Grimes racing ahead.  An inside move on the back stretch of the third lap gained Bryson Snow second from C. Holmes.  Holmes got out of shape in Turn 2 of the tenth lap, allowing Emma Rodgers to race by for third.  Grimes drove a great race to collect a well earned victory.  Snow was equally impressive in second as Rodgers, Holmes and Natalie Richard were lead lap finishers in the Top 5.

The Beginners Box Stock class saw Jacob James sweep both six lap heat races and the 15 lap Main Event.  James was the third ranked driver last season and would lap the field as Adrian Richard and Kiley Grimes both made their first starts in second and third, respectively.  Will Wigley was just a bit nervous about racing, but this young man did well just getting out on the track to make a lap by himself.

The drivers did a great job all night, and the next Outlaw Kart race will be on June 24th.  For further information, go to and look in the Outlaw Karts section.

500 Karts
Heat 1 (10 Laps)-Chase Hill.  Heat 2 (10 Laps)-Tanner Holmes.  Main Event (25 Laps)-T. Holmes, Hill, Steve Rambo, Johnny Burke, Jentzen Kinps.

250 Karts
Heat 1 (10 Laps)-Tanner Holmes.  Heat 2 (10 Laps)-Brenden Bartlett.  Heat 3 (10 Laps)-T. Holmes.  Heat 4 (10 Laps)-Enrique Jaime.  Main Event (25 Laps)-T. Holmes, Bartlett, Bodee Weiser, Brody Sim, Jamie, Braden Weiser, Wyatt Pinchney, Carley Holmes, Reece Slyter.

Box Stock
Heat 1 (10 Laps)-Carley Holmes.  Heat 2 (10 Laps)-Trevor Grimes.  Heat 3 (10 Laps)-Isabella Jaime.  Heat 4 (10 laps)-Grimes.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Grimes, Bryson Snow, Emma Rodgers, C. Holmes, Natalie Richard, I. Jaime, Ryan Hirschbock, Cadyn Smith, Deven Felix.

Beginner Box Stock
Heat 1 (6 Laps)-Jacob James.  Heat 2 (6 Laps)-James.  Main Event (15 Laps)-James, Adrian Richard, Kiley Grimes, Will Wigley (DNS).