Thursday, June 9, 2016

Wild West IMCA Modified Series Comes To Southern Oregon Speedway On Saturday

Southern Oregon Speedway Racing Discussion
 Can be heard HERE

Wild West IMCA Modified Series Comes 
To Southern Oregon Speedway On Saturday

The first race of an intense seven race in eight day series kicks off at Southern Oregon Speedway on Saturday night.  It's the opening round of the Sixth Annual Wild West Speedweek IMCA Modified Series.  Some of the best drivers on the West Coast will compete in the eight day event that spans seven races at six different tracks.

The drivers who compete in all seven events will be vying for a piece of the $3500 point fund and racing for $1000 to win and $600 for second in each event.  That kind of money brings out the best competitors, including Eugene, Oregon leadfoot Jesse Williamson.  Williamson won the race at Southern Oregon Speedway last year on his way to his third series championship.

If not for Chowchilla, California visitor Alex Stanford, who won the 2014 championship, it could very well be four championships in a row.  Stanford gave it a good run last year before settling for second.  Since the series started back in 2011, the top two winners are Williamson and Stanford.  Williamson has nine wins to six for Stanford, making them the drivers to beat going into Saturday.

However, Mark Wauge of Medford may have something to say about that following his $1500 win in the Haudenshild Tribute race two weeks ago.  Mark broke a rear end in his heat race that night.  After working hard right up until B Main time, he went out and won that race to earn a 19th starting position for the feature.  In 20 laps and with just one yellow flag to help him, Wauge went flying past Manteca, CA visitor Darrell Hughes II to win that race.

Mark loves the competition and was seen in Willamette last Saturday finishing third in a 22 car field.  "I just enjoy racing against a lot of cars, " said Wauge.  "I would rather finish fifth in a field of 20 cars than beat a field of eight.  I want to race where the competition is."

The competition will be at Southern Oregon Speedway Saturday night.  This includes Wauge's long time rival, Brian Poppa of Medford.  Poppa made his season debut two weeks ago in fourth.  A multi time champion and winner of the prestigious Lon Skinner Memorial Race, Poppa kicked off the Wild West Series in style back in 2011 with four wins and a championship.

Wauge and Poppa know that the competition level will be high on Saturday.  Fresh off of his Late Model win last week at his home track, defending Willamette champion Collin Winebarger is anticipated this week along with Madras champion B.J.  Wild of Redmond and Yreka champion Nick Trenchard of Klamath Falls.  California will likely send a few of its champions up, including past Antioch champions Kellen Chadwick of Knightsen and Troy Foulger of Martinez as well as Merced and Hanford champion Paul Stone of Winton.

Defending the local honor will be current point leader Duane Orsburn of Hombrook, CA, Matt Duste of Central Point, Jesse Bailey of Medford, two time reigning champion Albert Gill of Central Point and rookie James Welshonse of Medford.  A car count reaching into the 30's is anticipated for this race.

The IMCA Sport Modifieds and Outlaw Pro Stocks are support classes for this event, and some of the Sport Modified drivers are trying to make a case for being added as a companion class for the week long event in 2017.  Leading the charge at the moment is Medford and Cottage Grove point leader Jorddon Braaten of Central Point.  With six wins on the circuit so far, Braaten also leads the Oregon State and NW Sport Mod Challenge Series standings.

Even with his early season success, Braaten isn't taking anything for granted.  He knows that things can change quickly.  "There is a lot of season left, " said the two time defending track champion.  "Anything can happen on any given weekend."

Two drivers hoping to make things difficult for him this week are Bob Nelson of Central Point and two time champion  Dwayne Melvin of Medford.  Melvin finished second in the opener.  Defending State champion Mike Medel of Medford, Glen Severson of Central Point, Randy Fernandes of Medford and "Rookie Of The Year" hopeful David Marble of Eagle Point are others to watch for.

Steve Borror is the name at the top of the list of Outlaw Pro Stock racers.  The Klamath Falls resident dominated the last race at the speedway and added two more wins at Yreka.  The real question is can anybody stop him?  Two at the top of the list are past Pro Stock champion Scott Flowers and his son James Flowers.  The Klamath Falls residents are joined by Scott's daughter Julia, who is in her rookie season.

Two time champion Ken Irving and Roy Bain, both of Medford, looked fast in the opener as top 5 finishers, and they may be in line to end the Borror winning streak.  Other drivers to watch for include Klamath Falls residents Rick Lukens and Johnny Cobb, Medford's Tyler Lockwood and Brian Johnsen of Central Point.

This three division program will be one that you won't want to miss.  Gates open at 5:00 p.m. with the first race scheduled to start at 7:00 p.m.  Adult tickets are $15 with Seniors and Juniors $10.  Children 5 and under are free.  For further information, check out

Wild West Shoot Out 2015 Points

1. Jesse Williamson- Eugene, OR     635
2. Alex Stanford- Chowchilla, CA     587
3. Travis Peery- Williston, ND         522
4. Ryan Scott Gaylord- Golden, CO     521
5. Collen Winebarger- Corbett, OR     514
6. Nick Trenchard- Klamath Falls, OR     503
7. Mark Wauge- Jacksonville, OR     493
8. Bj Wild- Redmond, OR   Madras     489
9. Danny Lauer- Nipoma, CA         466
10. Troy Heupel- Williston, ND         458

Southern Oregon Speedway Points

IMCA Modifieds
Duane Orsburn    95
Mark Wauge    80
James Welshonse    78
Jesse Bailey    76
Nick Trenchard    70
Albert Gill    68
Kyle Casson    59
Daniel Herrera    59
Zach Fettinger    55
Matt Duste    54

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Jorddon Braaten    78
Bob Nelson    73
Dwayne Melvin    72
Jimmy Lipke    69
David Marble    63
A.J. Parker    62
Mike Medel    62
Tony Bartell    58
Randy Fernandes    58
Todd Cooper    40