Saturday, August 27, 2016

Bischoff, Miller, McCoy Win Main Events At Southern Oregon Speedway

Bischoff, Miller, McCoy Win Main Events 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...Taking the lead from Ray Kniffen Jr. on a lap 15 restart, Monte Bischoff went on to win the 25 lap IMCA Modified Main Event Saturday night Southern Oregon Speedway.  Kniffen ran closely behind Bischoff, but he was unable to make the move as he settled for second ahead of Nick Trenchard.

Aaron Miller led from flag to flag to win the 20 lap Pennzoil Winged Sprint Car Main Event ahead of Rowdy McClennon.

Sporting a new "Lightning Mcqueen" paint job on his IMCA Sport Modified, Rich McCoy won a mid race duel with second place finisher Jimmy Lipke to get his first 20 lap Main Event win.

Miles Deubert took the lead from Matt Harlow on lap nine and won his second 20 lap Outlaw Pro Stock Main Event.  James Flowers finished a season best second.

Lee Doty wrapped up an impressive evening by winning the heat, Trophy Dash and his third 20 lap Super 4's Main Event.  Charlie Eaton won a drag race to the line with John Barger for second.

Trevor Thomason returned to the winner's circle for the fourth time in the OTRO Hardtops by leading most of the way to win their 20 lap Main Event.  Bill Trotter made a last lap bid for the win before falling short by inches.

Monte Bischoff scored an impressive 25 lap IMCA Modified Main Event victory.  Bischoff won the Trophy Dash earlier in the evening and chased early leader Ray Kniffen Jr. for 14 laps in the Main Event.  Bischoff took the lead on a lap 15 restart and had to hold off Kniffen, who tried hard to make a move.  Kniffen settled for a strong second place finish as Nick Trenchard held off Mark Wauge in a close battle or third.  James Welschonse completed the Top 5 at the checkered flag.

An emotional Aaron Miller fought back tears as he was interviewed by Bryce Burtner following his 20 lap Pennzoil Sprint Car Main Event win.  It was Miller's first ever win, and he ran a flawless race to lead every lap.  Trophy Dash winner Rowdy McClennon finished second ahead of Wayne Kniffen and Jeffrey Hudson.

Rich McCoy had a new car and Disney's Cars themed paint job on his IMCA Sport Modified.  He won his fist Main Event after taking the lead from Yreka point leader Jimmy Lipke with a low move in Turn 3 of the ninth lap.  After leading the first nine laps, Lipke ran second the rest of the way behind McCoy.  Mike Medel gained ground in the point race with a solid third place finish as Willie McFall held off Doug Franklin to finish fourth.

Lee Doty set a rapid pace in winning his third 20 lap Super 4's Main Event.  Doty won the heat race and Trophy Dash and gained significant ground on John Barger in the point battle.  Doty could see the battle between Charlie Eaton and Barger in front of him as he took a checkered flag in first.  Eaton barely held off Barger for second as Bill Spencer and Eric Oahs rounded out the Top 5.

Trevor Thomason once again won the 20 lap OTRO Hardtop Main Event, but it wasn't easy.  Thomason gained the lead on lap two.  Bill Trotter and Wylie Powell ran not far behind him most of the way.  During the final few laps, Trotter closed in on Thomason and finished just inches behind him.  It was the fourth win of the season for Thomason as Trophy Dash winner Wylie Powell finished third ahead of Chris Mehrer and Jimmy Del Castille.

Racing returns next weekend with the Lon Skinner Memorial for IMCA Modifieds.  The 21st annual event will run preliminary races on Saturday with the IMCA Modifeds paying $5000 to win on Sunday.  IMCA Sport Modifieds and SODCA Dwarf Cars will compete on both nights.  For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
IMCA Modifieds
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Monte Bischoff.  Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Zach Fettinger   Main Event (20 Laps)-Bischoff, Ray Kniffen Jr., Nick Trenchard, Wauge, James Welschonse.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Mike Medel.  Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jimmy Lipke, Rich McCoy.  Main Event (20 Laps)-McCoy, Lipke, Medel, Willie McFall, Doug Franklin.

Valley Boys Auto Sales Outlaw Pro Stocks
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Scott Flowers.  Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Rocky Nash, Miles Deubert.   Main Event (20 Laps)-Deubert, James Flowers, Rocky Nash, Scott Flowers, Matt Harlow.

Pennzoil Winged Sprint Cars
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Rowdy McClennon.  Heat Winner (6 Laps)-McClennon.   Main Event (20 Laps)-Aaron Miller, McClenon, Wayne Kniffen, Jeffrey Hudson.

Super 4's
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Lee Doty.  Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Doty.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Doty, Charlie Eaton, John Barger, Bill Spencer, Eric Oahs.

OTRO Hardtops
Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Wylie Powell.  Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Powell.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Trevor Thomason, Bill Trotter, Powell, Chris Mehrer, Jimmy Del Castille.