Friday, August 5, 2016

Jones Opens Dwarf Car Nationals With Pro Class Victory

Jones Opens Dwarf Car Nationals With Pro Class Victory,
Cody Peters Wins Sportsman Class

White City, Oregon...Defending Pro Division WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals winner Shawn Jones impressed with a flag to flag romp in the 20 lap Main Event Friday night at Southern Oregon Speedway.  The smoothly run race had just one yellow flag, and Jones won with SBDCA point leader David Teves not far behind him in second.

Eric Weisler won a thrilling late race battle with race long leader Kevin Bender to score the victory in the 20 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Main Event.  Weisler made his winning pass with three laps to go, and Buddy Olschowka ended up second when Bender spun trying to regain the lead.

Taking the lead from Brett Olney on lap 10, Cody Peters won the 20 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Main Event by a straightaway ahead of Ben Wiesz.  It was the first career Main Event win for Peters.

Shawn Jones won the 20 lap Pro Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event.  Jones and fellow heat race winner David Teves shared the front row and ran 1-2 the entire race.  The only yellow flag flew on lap 11, and Teves could do nothing but continue to chase eventual winner Jones to the checkered flag.  Gene "Punky" Pires Jr. won a good battle with SODCA point leader Brock Peters for the third place finish with Southern California star John Isabella finishing fifth.  Las Vegas leadfoot Matt Sargent won the 15 lap B Main Event ahead of Guy Tow Jr.

Eric Weisler won the 20 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event.  Heat winner Kevin Miraglio led two laps before Kevin Bender went charging by with a low pass in Turn 4.  Weisler settled into second on lap four ahead of Buddy Olschowka, and the lead trio began to pull away.  Olschowka and Weisler battled back and forth for second until Weisler grabbed the spot for good on lap ten.  Weisler pressured Bender for the lead until making the pass with a low move in Turn 2 of the 17th lap.  Bender spun in Turn 2 a lap later in a bid to regain the lead.  Weisler went on to win by a comfortable margin ahead of Olschowka, Tim Fitzpatrick, Dan Geil and Miraglio.

Cody Peters won the eventful 20 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Preliminary Main Event.  Peters paced three laps before surrendering the lead to Ben Wiesz on a lap four restart.  A lap seven restart allowed Brett Olney to grab the lead with Peters reclaiming second.  Peters dogged Olney until getting the lead with a low pass in Turn 4 on lap ten.  Two laps later, Olney spun into the infield off of Turn 2 without a caution flag.  Wiesz was back in second at that point, but that was as close as he got as Peters pulled away to a straightaway lead at the checkered flag.  Bud Lorenz finished third ahead of Tim Reeder and Sean Fuller.

Unofficial Race Results
WCDCA Pro Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (10 laps)-David Teves, Shawn Jones, Brock Peters, Camden Robustelli.   B Main (15 Laps)-Matt Sargent, Guy Tow Jr., Jeff Fitch.  A Main (20 Laps)-Jones, Teves, Gene Pires Jr., John Isabella, Peters.

WCDCA Veteran Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (10 laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Scott Dahlgren, Kevin Bender.   A Main (20 Laps)-Eric Weisler, Buddy Olschowka, Tim Fitzpatrick, Dan Geil, Miraglio.

WCDCA Sportsman Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (10 laps)-Cody Peters, Kyle Jones.  A Main (20 Laps)-Peters, Ben Wiesz, Bud Lorenz, Tim Reeder, Sean Fuller.