Sunday, June 17, 2018

Hibbard, Fettinger, Possinger Win At Southern Oregon Speedway

Hibbard, Fettinger, Possinger Win 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 16...David Hibbard managed to survive to win the 20 lap Kendal Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event. Hibbard led early, but he surrendered the lead to reigning champion Kyler Barraza on lap eight. Barraza seemed headed for victory when a car swerved into his path as he attempted to lap it on lap 12. Barraza ended up flipping off of Turn 1, but he was uninjured. Hibbard had the lead at that point and survived a scary moment with a slower car too. He would win his second feature of the season, followed by Jeffrey Hudson, Enrique Jaime, Kinzer Cox and Hedge Carter.

Zach Fettinger recovered from an early crash to win the 25 lap IMCA Modified Main Event. Andy Freeman led early ahead of Fettinger. A slower car swerved into the path of Fettinger and Mark Wauge on the front stretch, causing a crash that sent both Wauge and Fettinger to the pits. Jantzen Knips raced into the lead on the restart and exchanged the lead with Freeman multiple times before Fettinger made a back stretch pass on Knips for the lead on lap ten. Fettinger had Putnam on his rear bumper the rest of the way, but he would prevail. Albert Gill finished third ahead of Freeman and Knips.

Braxton Possinger won a thrilling 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event. Possinger set the pace from the start, and Tony Duste gained second on lap four. Duste made a low pass in Turn 4 of the eighth lap to gain the lead, but he spun in Turn 4 a lap later. Justin McCreadie took up pursuit of Possinger and kept taking looks to the inside. However, McCreadie spun in Turn 2 on the last lap as Possinger took the checkered flag in first. David Marble made a last turn pass on Rich McCoy for second as Jesse Merriman and Willie McFall rounded out the Top 5.

Greg Arnold scored a clean sweep of heat, dash and 15 lap Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites Main Event. Arnold charged into the lead at the start with reigning champion Bob Burkett following. Arnold set a good pace and pulled ahead of Burkett just a bit by the waving of the checkered flag. Charlie Eaton settled for third ahead of Terry Hadley and Krista Hadley

Bill Trotter scored his first 15 lap OTRO Hardtop Main Event win. Bill sprinted into the early lead ahead of his son Dusty Trotter. An inside pass in Turn 4 of the ninth lap gained Trophy Dash winner Jay Smith second. Smith pressured B Trotter hard down the stretch, but B Totter would prevail. D Trotter finished third ahead of Mark Minter and Dean Cast.

Point leader David Steele won his third 15 lap Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock Main Event. Trophy Dash winner Hunter Magnan tried to get by on the inside during the final two laps, but Steel prevailed at the checkered flag. Magnan settled for second ahead of Steve Goetz, Ashtin Hedges and Michael McLeod.

Next week the speedway will offer two nights of racing. Friday is an Outlaw Kart Program on the little track. Saturday is Wild West IMCA Modified Speedweek. IMCA Sport Modifieds, SODCA Dwarf Cars and JOAT Labs Hornets are also competing. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Jeffrey Hudson, Kyler Barraza, AJ Harbaugh. Scramble (6 Laps)-Kyler Barraza. Main Event (25 Laps)-David Hibbard, Jeffrey Hudson, Enique Jaime, Kinzer Cox, Hedge Carter.

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Nick Trenchard, Zach Fettinger. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Albert Gill. Main Event (20 Laps)-Zach Fettinger, CJ Putnam, Albert Gill, Andy Freeman, Jantzen Knips.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Rich McCoy, Justin McCreadie. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Willie McFall. Main Event (20 Laps)-Braxton Possinger, David Marble, Rich McCoy, Jesse Merriman, Willie McFall.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-David Steele. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Hunter Magnan. Main Event (15 Laps)-David Steele, Hunter Magnan, Steve Goetz, Ashtin Hedges, Michael McLeod.

Valley Stor-All Late Model Lites
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Greg Arnold. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Greg Arnold. Main Event (15 Laps)-Greg Arnold, Bob Burkett, Charlie Eaton, Terry Hadley, Krista Hadley.

OTRO Hardtops
Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Bill Trotter. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Jay Smith. Main Event (15 Laps)-Bill Totter, Jay Smith, Dusty Trotter, Mark Minter, Dean Cast.