Sunday, May 5, 2019

Holmes, Hudson, Sanders Win Southern Oregon Speedway Season Opener

Holmes, Hudson, Sanders Win 
Southern Oregon Speedway Season Opener

White City, Oregon...May 4...Tanner Holmes opened the season with the 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event win Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. Going back to the end of last year, this was the third straight win for Holmes. TJ Winningham had a front row start for the race and charged into the lead with reigning champion David Hibbard in pursuit. Holmes took second from Hibbard on a lap nine restart and closed in rapidly on Winningham. The two leaders had an intense side by side battle, but Holmes saw a pass for the lead negated by a lap 21 caution flag for Bailey Hibbard. Holmes took the lead on the restart and led the final four laps to win ahead of Winnigham, David Hibbard, Mike Wheeler and Charlie Thompson.

Jeffrey Hudson won the 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event. The 2018 Sprint Car championship runnerup, Hudson was fifth early on as Jesse Bailey led Justin Foux. Foux gained the lead with a Turn 4 pass on lap four with Hudson making a similar move into second two laps later. Hudson made an inside pass in Turn 4 on lap eight to take the lead from Foux. The race was red flagged on lap nine when Duane Orsburn hit the frontstretch wall and rolled four times. Mark Wauge worked his way into third by then and took second on lap 11. Wauge steadily reeled in Hudson, but he ran out of time as Hudson was the happy winner. Foux finished third ahead of Preston Jones and Zach Fettinger.

Matt Sanders won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event. Justin McCreadie had a front row start and led the rapidly run race through a pair of yellow flags. Matt Sanders and Dwayne Melvin ran closely behind McCreadie until Melvin made a move into second on lap 14. A lap lap later, Melvin made an outside move on McCreadie in traffic, only to have contact cause him to spin. McCreadie continued to lead on the restart. On the last lap, Sanders made a move on McCreadie and beat him back to the line by inches for the win. Jorddon Braaten finished third, followed by Rich McCoy and Doug Coffman.

Reigning Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock champion David Steele won the 20 lap Main Event. This was his division leading 30th career win. Steele had a brief battle with Kristopher Mix before pulling away. He led all the way in victory. Michael McLeod was a career best second, followed by Ashtin Hedges and Kristopher Mix.

Dylan Sauer won his first career 20 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event. Tim Hedges led two laps before being passed by Chris Boynton. After a lap four yellow flag, Hedges retook the lead, but Boynton passed him in Turn 3 on lap seven. Sauer was in third, gained second on lap eight and made a Turn 4 pass in traffic on lap nine to take the lead from Boynton. Moments later, a lapped car spun Boynton in Turn 2. Sauer continued to lead on the restart and pulled away from Tim Hedges for the win. Boynton charged back to finish third ahead of Derrel Nelson Jr and Jenna Hedges.

Racing resumes next Saturday with the Late Models in action along with the SODCA Dwarf Cars, Valley Store All Late Model Lites, Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks and JOAT Labs Hornets. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Southern Oregon Speedway
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (10 Laps)-David Hibbard, David Marble. Scramble (6 Laps)-David Hibbard. Main Event (25 laps)-Tanner Holmes, TJ Winnigham, David Hibbard, Mike Wheeler, Charlie Thompson.

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Preston Jones. Main Event (20 Laps)-Jeffrey Hudson, Mark Wauge, Justin Foux, Preston Jones, Zach Fettinger.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Justin McCreadie, Dwayne Melvin, Matt Sanders. Main Event (20 Laps)-Matt Sanders, Justin McCreadie, Jorddon Braaten, Rich McCoy, Doug Coffman.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-David Steele. Main Event (20 Laps)-David Steele, Michael McLeod, Ashtin Hedges, Dylan Irving, Kristopher Mix.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Chris Boynton, Tim Hedges. Main Event (20 Laps)-Dylan Sauer, Tim Hedges, Chris Boynton, Derrel Nelson Jr, Jenna Hedges.