Saturday, June 15, 2019

Taylor, Grimes, DeBenedetti Win At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

Taylor, Grimes, DeBenedetti Win 
At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 14...Trevor Taylor turned in a dominant performance in winning not one, but three Speedway Bike Main Events Friday night at little Southern Oregon Speedway. Taylor won the Open, 450cc and 250cc classifications.

In the Open Bike class, Taylor led from the outset, leaving the battle for second. Mya Maffei took the second position from Brooke Lozano on lap five and finished there as Lozano, Steve Williamson and Theo Lount completed the Top 5.

In the 450cc Bike class, Taylor had the lead at the start ahead of Lount. Brooke Lozano took third from Steve Williamson on lap four. Taylor rode a good race and collected the victory ahead of Lount, Lozano, Williamson and Matt Washer.

Taylor's first win came on a different bike in the 250cc Bike class. He again led from the outset with Alec Vernier an early second. Lount gained second on lap 4 and kept things close up front. However, Taylor would win ahead of Lount, Mya Maffei, Alec Vernier and Shawn Vernier.

Taylor also won his six lap heat races in all three classes, and there was some exciting two and even three wide battles going on all night long. Bo Stanridge won the 12 lap Quad Main Event, and Mike Burson was the winner of the 12 lap Trike feature. Both riders led every lap in their respective victories.

Collin Laeger won the Small Bikes 12 lap Main Event. Laeger led from the start and was followed by Brody Taylor and Jax Taylor. Laeger also won the six lap heat race.

Trevor Grimes won the 20 lap 250 Kart Main Event. This was the second straight win for the 2017 champion. Jacob James raced into the lead at the start, but Grimes ran closely behind him. Both drivers had picked up six lap heat race wins earlier in the evening. On lap 17, Grimes made a move on James for the lead in Turns 1 and 2, and there was contact. Both drivers kept going, but Grimes assumed the lead and brought it home to victory ahead of James, Cadyn Smith and reigning champion Vinny DeBenedetti.

Jayme DeBenedetti picked up her first-ever 15 lap Beginners Box Stock Main Event win. DeBenedetti and Isaac Grimes won eight lap heat races. Grimes led two laps before DeBenedetti went racing by. Once DeBenedetti got into a rhythm, nobody could keep up with her. She won the race by about a straightaway ahead of Urijah Boardman, Bhaltaire Edwards, Talia Colley and Grimes.

Reigning Box Stock champion Keaton Augustine won the 15 lap Main Event. This was his second straight win, and he also won both six lap heat races. Kiley Grimes ran second early on, but she would eventually surrender the position to Albert Gill Jr, who finished second ahead of Grimes.

The little track will continue with another show of Flat Track Bikes, Quads and Outlaw Karts this coming Friday night. For further information, go to