Sunday, June 30, 2019

Wheeler Scores Convincing Win At Southern Oregon Speedway

Southern Oregon Speedway Racing Discussion
Can Be Heard HERE

Wheeler Scores Convincing Win 
At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...June 29...Point leader Mike Wheeler scored a convincing win in the 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. This was the second straight win for the point leader. Wheeler sprinted into the lead at the drop of the green flag, and the race was destined to go without a yellow flag. Tanner Holmes and Enrique Jaime had a spirited battle for second for much of the race. Jaime ran strong on the inside with Holmes looking fast on the outside. Holmes finally made his move in Turn 2 to claim second. By then, Wheeler was far ahead as he took the checkered flag in victory. Holmes settled for second ahead of Jaime, Blaine Cory and David Hibbard.

Hunter Magnan won his his first career Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock Main Event. David Steele charged into the lead at the start and quickly built a straightaway advantage over Trophy Dash winner Ashtin Hedges. Magnan took third from Steve Goetz on lap ten and made an inside pass in Turn 4 of the 17th lap to take second from Hedges. A yellow flag flew Dylan Irving on lap 18 wiped out a huge Steele lead. Magnan ran closely behind Steele on the restart and made his winning pass a lap later. Steele settled for second ahead of Hedges, Goetz and Kristopher Mix.

Dylan Sauer won his fourth straight 20 lap JOAT Labs Hornets Main Event. Sauer raced into the lead at the start of the non stop event, but the win wasn't easy. Rookie Quinton Tritchler took the lead with an inside pass in Turn 4 on lap 12, but the two exchanged the lead multiple times during the next four laps. A low pass in Turn 3 of the 16th lap regained Sauer the lead. Tritchler made a run on Sauer as they headed to the checkered flag, but Sauer beat him by a nose. Bree Tritchler crossed the line in third, followed by Jenna Hedges and Tim Hedges. However, Bree Tritchler failed to report to tech and was disqualified.

Dean Cast won his second straight OTRO Hardtop Main Event. This was an eventful race that saw several lead changes and yellow flags. Jay Smith led six laps before Bill Trotter took the lead with an inside pass in Turn 4. Trotter spun in Turn 2 for a lap nine yellow flag, and Cast took the lead on the restart. Trotter was back in second when the final yellow flag flew on lap 17. However, Cast continued to lead on the restart and won ahead of Trotter, Smith, Eric DeRamus and Darryl Haugh.

Greg Arnold led all 15 laps to win the Valley Store All late Model Lites Main Event. Arnold also won the eight lap heat race and four lap Trophy Dash. Charlie Eaton finished second in the Main Event, followed by Dusty Aos and Eric Aos.

Racing resumes next Saturday night with the Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars, Late Models, Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks, JOAT Labs Hornets and Valley Store All Late Model Lites all on the schedule. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Tanner Holmes, Raquel Ivie. Scramble (6 Laps)-Enrique Jaime. Main Event (25 Laps)-Mike Wheeler, Tanner Holmes, Erique Jaime, Blaine Cory, David Hibbard.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-David Steele, Steve Goetz. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Ashtin Hedges. Main Event (20 Laps)-Hunter Magnan, David Steele, Ashtin Hedges, Steve Goetz, Kristopher Mix.

JOAT Labs Hornets
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Bree Tritchler. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Dylan Sauer. Main Event (20 Laps)-Dylan Sauer, Quinton Tritchler, Jenna Hedges, Tim Hedges, Lacey Sauer.

OTRO Hardtops
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Darryl Haugh, Bill Trotter. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Darryl Haugh. Main Event (20 Laps)-Dean Cast, Bill Trotter, Jay Smith, Eric DeRamus, Darryl Haugh.

Valley Store All Late Model Lites
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Greg Arnold. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Greg Arnold. Main Event (15 Laps)-Greg Arnold, Charlie Eaton, Dusty Aos, Eric Aos, Ross Payant DNS.