Sunday, July 21, 2019

Cox Snaps Wheeler Win Streak At Southern Oregon Speedway

Southern Oregon Speedway Racing Discussion
Can Be Heard HERE

Cox Snaps Wheeler Win Streak At Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon...July 20...Kinzer Cox made a surprise visit to Southern Oregon Speedway and won the 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night.  The Cottage Grove Speedway star led all the way to snap a three race win streak for point leader Mike Wheeler.  Cox was trailed early by David Hibbard before Tanner Holmes gained second on lap six.  Wheeler, meanwhile, started midway back in the 15 car field and managed to take third from Hibbard on lap 18.  Wheeler overtook Holmes for second on lap 21 and set his sights on Cox.  Trouble with slower car on lap 23 slowed Wheeler's momentum.  Wheeler still made a last lap bid to take the lead in the final turn, but Cox prevailed at the checkered flag.  Holmes settled for third ahead of Jake Wheeler and Bailey Hibbard

Zach Fettinger won the 25 lap IMCA Modified Main Event.  This was the first win of the season for the point leader, and he had to come from the back to do it.  Dave Duste Jr led at the start, and Fettinger made a strong move on the inside in Turn 4 to gain fourth on lap two.  A lap later, Fettinger was in third, and he slipped past Duane Orsburn in Turn 4 on lap five for second.  An inside move in Turn 4 of the 13th lap put Fettinger into the lead.  Fettinger and Duste ran strong on the bottom groove for a 1-2 finish.  Justin Foux finished third followed by Jesse Bailey and Andy Freeman.

Point leader Trent Elliott won the 25 lap Late Model Main Event.  It was his second win of the season and capped a clean sweep as he won the Trophy Dash and his heat race.  Elliott led from the start with Darren Coffell in pursuit.  It only took eight laps before Elliott was working slower traffic.   There were three yellow flags, but Elliott motored ahead on each restart and brought it home to a well earned victory.  Coffell settled for second ahead of Dave Everson, Nathan Augustine and Bob Dees.

Braxton Possinger won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event.  Possinger led from the start through several yellow flag periods.  Issac Sanders ran second most of the race and withstood late pressure from point leader Jorddon Braaten.  Possinger won ahead of Isaac Sanders, Braaten, Matt Sanders and Branden Wilson.

Josh King won his second 20 lap Southern Oregon Dwarf Car Main Event.  King sprinted into the lead from the start.  However, the battle got close by lap 15.  A lap later, Camden Robustelli raced by on the outside in Turn 4 to briefly gain the lead.  However, Brock Peters made a low pass in Turn 4 on lap 17 to take the lead.  During a lap 18 caution period, Peters suffered a mechanical issue to end his race.  King suddenly found himself leading again, and he led the rest of the way to win ahead of Robustelli, Chad Cardoza, Cody Peters and Ryan Smith.

After a week off, racing returns on August 3rd with the Annual Herz Precision Parts Wingless 360 Sprint Car Challenge.  This will be a $3,500 to win race.  Also competing will be the Late Models, SODCA Dwarf Cars, Valley Store All Late Model Lites and OTRO Hardtops.  For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Tanner Holmes, Kinzer Cox, David Hibbard.  Scramble (6 Laps)-David Hibbard.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Kinzer Cox, Mike Wheeler, Tanner Holmes, Jake Wheeler, Bailey Hibbard.

Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Trent Elliott, Darren Coffell.  Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Trent Elliott.  Main Event (25 Laps)-Trent Elliott, Darren Coffell, Dave Everson, Nathan Augustine, Bob Dees.

IMCA Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Jesse Bailey, Zach Fettinger.   Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Zach Fettinger.   Main Event (25 Laps)-Zach Fettiger, Dave Duste Jr, Justin Foux, Jesse Bailey, Andy Freeman.

IMCA Sport Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Isaac Sanders, Braxton Possinger, Donald Bandfield, Jorddon Braaten.    Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Jantzen Knips.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Braxton Possinger, Isaac Sanders, Jorddon Braaten, Matt Sanders, Branden Wilson.

SODCA Dwarf Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Josh King, Chad Cardoza, Cody Peters, Camden Robustelli.  A Dash (6 Laps)-Josh King.  B Dash (6 Laps)-Mason Lewman.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Josh King, Camden Robustelli, Chad Cardoza, Cody Peters, Ryan Smith.