Saturday, August 17, 2019

Grimes, Taylor, Smith Win Championship Night Races At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

Grimes, Taylor, Smith Win Championship Night Races 
At Little Southern Oregon Speedway

White City, Oregon... August 16...Isaac Grimes saved his best for last as he won his first ever 15 lap Beginners Box Stock Main Event Friday night at Little Southern Oregon Speedway. However, he still settled for second in the standings behind new champion Jayme DeBenedetti. Newcomer Elijah Humphrey led the race until bringing out a yellow flag after eight laps. DeBenedetti was running second ahead of Grimes at the time, and she had the lead on the restart. However, Grimes pressured her until making an inside pass in Turn 3 of the 12th lap to get the lead. Grimes went on to win ahead of DeBenedetti, Bentleigh Chapman, Humphrey, Caleb Ranney, Talia Colley and Bhaltaire Edwards. Grimes and Chapman won six lap heat races.

Trevor Taylor wrapped up championship seasons in the Open Bike, 450cc Bike and 250cc Bike classes. In the Open Bike class, heat winner Taylor ran second behind Jesse Miller until making a Turn 2 pass on lap five to gain the lead. Taylor led the rest of the 12 lap event with Miller a close second ahead of Rick Roach, Dusty Tsarnas and James Tsarnas.

Taylor also won the 450cc Bike 12 lap Main Event. Dusty Tsarnas ran second until being passed by Roach on the backstretch on lap three. Roach immediately moved behind the heat race winner Taylor. Roach pressured Taylor the rest of the way, but Taylor prevailed at the checkered flag ahead of Roach, Dusty Tsarnas and James Tsarnas.

Cadyn Smith won his first ever 250 Kart 20 lap Main Event. In doing so, he moved into second in the standings as Trevor Grimes clinched his second championship in the last three years. Vinny DeBenedetti and Grimes picked up heat race wins, and DeBenedetti led at the start ahead of Smith and Grimes. DeBenedetti appeared to have things in hand when the 2018 champion stalled for a lap 10 yellow flag. This put Smith into the lead. Grimes and Emma Rodgers battled for second, but Grimes took the spot on lap 13. However, as Grimes made an attempt to get by Smith on the inside down the backstretch on lap 16, he ran out of room and ended up in the infield into one of the small tires as a yellow flag waved. Smith led the restart. Grimes made a strong attempt to get around Smith in the final turn, but Smith prevailed ahead of Grimes, Rodgers and DeBenedetti.

Ben Herbert prevailed in the 12 lap Big Trike Main Event. Herbert took the lead from heat race winner Ryan Comstock on lap two and pulled away to victory ahead of Comstock and new champion Mike Burson Sr.

Mike Burson Sr won the 12 lap Little Trike Main Event in a dual with his daughter, new champion McKayla Burson. The two  exchanged the lead several times, and McKayla Burson led going into the final turn. McKayla drifted up on exit in Turn 4 and hit the wall. She was shaken up, but she was okay as Mike Burson won.

Brody Taylor won the 12 lap Small Bike Main Event and six lap heat race to wrap up his championship. Brother Jax Taylor finished second in both races and finished second in the standings.

Keaton Augustine made a couple of victory laps as he wrapped up his second straight Box Stock championship.