Monday, September 9, 2019

Thompson, Elliott, Payant, Steele Southern Oregon Speedway Winners

Southern Oregon Speedway Racing Discussion
Can Be Heard HERE

Thompson, Elliott, Payant, Steele 
Southern Oregon Speedway Winners

White City, Oregon...September 7...Charlie Thompson won the 25 lap Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Car Main Event Saturday night at Southern Oregon Speedway. This was the first win of the season for the 2009 champion Thompson, and the standings were shuffled with one race to go as Mike Wheeler dropped out early. Bailey Hibbard will be the point leader with Mike Wheeler and Thompson both within a few points of him going into next week's season finale.

Thompson won the six lap Scramble to grab the pole for the feature. He raced into the lead at the start ahead of Bailey Hibbard. Mike Wheeler stalled with motor woes on lap 10. Thompson led Bailey Hibbard on the restart. Thompson was lapping David Marble when he contacted the front wall on lap 16. Marble ended up flipping for a red flag, but he was not injured. Thompson had the lead for the final restart and would lead the rest of the way ahead of Bailey Hibbard, Jake Wheeler, David Hibbard and Johnny Burke.

Trent Elliott won the 25 lap Late Model Main Event. This was the fifth win for Elliott, who clinched the track championship. Mark Wauge led a lap before an inside pass in Turn 4 gained Elliott the lead. A lap 16 yellow flag flew when Darren Coffell stalled out of third. Elliott led the restart and brought it to the checkered flag for the win. Wauge finished second ahead of Dave Everson, Tomas Hunziker and Dave Foote.

Ross Payant won the 20 lap Valley Store All Late Model Lites Main Event. This was his second win of the season aboard the Lee Doty owned car. Terry Hadley led the first seven laps before Payant went low in Turn 3 as they lapped a slower car to grab the lead. Payant led the rest of the way as only a lap 16 yellow flag slowed the pace. Terry Hadley pitted with a flat on lap 14, handing second to his wife Krista Hadley. She would finish second ahead of Charlie Eaton, new champion Greg Arnold and Dusty Aos.

David Steele won the 20 lap Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stock Main Event. This was his seventh win of the season, and it enabled him to clinch the championship. Steele elected to start at the back of the pack, and Ashtin Hedges charged into the early lead over Steve Goetz. A high pass in Turn 2 of the fourth lap gained Steele third from Gary Anderson. An outside pass on the front stretch of the sixth lap gained Steele second from Goetz, and he closed in on Hedges. Hedges caught slower traffic in the closing laps. As they came to take the checkered flag, Steele had the momentum on the outside line. Steele beat Hedges by inches for the thrilling victory. Goetz settled for third ahead of Hunter Magnan and Anderson.

Racing season will conclude next Saturday with the second Championship Night. IMCA Modifieds will be back along with the Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars, IMCA Sport Modifieds and SODCA Dwarf Cars. For further information, go to

Unofficial Race Results
Kendall Oil Winged Sprint Cars
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Johnny Burke, Bailey Hibbard. Scramble (6 Laps)-Charlie Thompson. Main Event (25 Laps)-Charlie Thompson, Bailey Hibbard, Jake Wheeler, David Hibbard, Johnny Burke.

Late Models
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Mark Wauge, Darren Coffell. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Dave Everson. Main Event (25 Laps)-Trent Elliott, Mark Wauge, Dave Everson, Tomas Hunziker, Dave Foote.

Bobbio's Pizza Mini Stocks
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Ashtin Hedges, David Steele. Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Daivd Steele. Makeup Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Kristopher Mix. Main Event (20 Laps)-David Steele, Ashtin Hedges, Steve Goetz, Hunter Magnan, Gary Anderson.

Valley Store All Late Model Lites
Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Krista Hadley, Terry Hadley. Trophy Dash-Charlie Eaton. Makeup Trophy Dash (4 Laps)-Ross Payant. Main Event (20 Laps)-Ross Payant, Krista Hadley. Charlie Eaton, Greg Arnold, Dusty Aos.